Your exclusive guide!

United Music of Brussels: your exclusive guide!

Whether you’re the type to plan your weekend meticulously weeks in advance, or you step out of the front door late on a Saturday morning to sniff the air and wonder what the day ahead will bring, welcome to United Music of Brussels, a musical festival that stretches to every taste. Choose your menu à la carte, according to your taste and inspiration, to the pace of your weekend… and perhaps that of those angelic little cherubs by your side.

Check the full programme available here.

Here are some insider tips to help you decide.

Mad about opera and song? Once you leave the Mozart overture at La Monnaie, you’ll be spoiled for choice! At the Madeleine, the singers take their inspiration from a stage that evokes the music hall, while from the Galerie Bortier, sweet voices spill out, singing Renaissance arias and reciting poetry. Meanwhile, at the heart of the Fine Arts Centre, in a royal setting, Lisa and Thomas recite the sorry tales of the wives of Henry VIII. And in a hidden basement, eight young singers surround you and invite you to float into Rachmaninoff…

Obsessed with jazz? Then why not slip into one of the apartments above the Galeries Saint-Hubert for some Duke Ellington? Or perhaps this is the time to discover the magnificent Vaudeville Theatre for a programme of silent movies and musical improvisation with a taste of jazz, with Philippe Thuriot and his “chess players”? As you step out of the gallery, you might bump into Mâäk & KOJO a musical collective guaranteed to shake you up… And if you’re thirsty, head straight for Café 28, where classical musicians meet Tcha Limberger and his crazy gypsies!

All about blowing? Hidden away in the discrete church of the Madeleine, a wind ensemble is preparing to launch into Beethoven’s eighth – with a most compact clutch of musicians! At the same time, in the Galeries Saint-Hubert, the Brass Band of the Belgian National Orchestra is preparing to take your window shopping by surprise. And while you’re there, why not rediscover the Magic Flute in the company of Maaike Cafmeyer and her fellow oboists (in Dutch only)?

Stringing along? Try this out: stretch out on a yoga mat to the sounds of the violin and the cello, and dive into Castillo Interior, a magnificent work by Vasks. At the end of the day, head off to BOZAR for the final act, where soloist Lorenzo Gatto is joined by the strings of the national orchestra to recompose Max Richter just for you… or was that Vivaldi?
In love with the heritage of Brussels? From the Galeries Saint-Hubert to the Fine Arts Centre, from the Galerie Bortier to the church of the Madeleine… United Music invites you to re-explore the city while discovering musical worlds you can never have imagined!

Do you have young children? They’ll love the magical opening at La Monnaie! Join us from the very start of the adventure and dive into the theme of this edition. The singers at La Monnaie will dazzle you with a taste of their first opera of the season, The Magic Flute. The boisterous performance of Mâäk & KOJO, the joys of cinema at the Vaudeville theatre, the swing vibe at Café 28 should also delight both young and old… Or maybe you’d like to take a seat in the musicians’ chairs at the Belgian National Orchestra at Galerie Ravenstein, where a band of percussionists will make sure to get you going? Or open wide your eyes to take in the hip hop contortions of Greg Lox at the BOZAR Half Circus, driven by DJ Keso and a group of classical musicians?

Unusual concert venues, an experimental programme… United Music of Brussels echoes the 2018-2019 theme, “BOZAR breaks out!” With its nods to The Magic Flute, the next opera on the programme at La Monnaie, and to the music of Beethoven, all of whose symphonies will be performed in 2018-2019 by the Orchestre Symphonique de la Monnaie and the Belgian National Orchestra, this afternoon is also an opportunity to raise a corner of the curtain on the concerts that await you for this exciting new season…
So on your marks… get set… Explore!

Le guide exclusif!

United Music of Brussels : le guide exclusif!

Que vous aimiez à planifier méticuleusement votre week-end plusieurs semaines à l’avance, ou que vous préfériez humer l’air le samedi en fin de matinée en vous demandant de quoi la journée sera faite, bienvenue à United Music of Brussels, cette fête musicale au format élastique ! A vous de composer votre menu sur mesure, selon vos goûts et inspirations, votre rythme de promenade … et éventuellement celui des petits chérubins qui vous accompagnent.

Vous trouvez le programme complet disponible ici

Voici quelques suggestions pour vous aider à faire votre choix comme un insider.

Vous êtes un inconditionnel du lyrique ? En sortant de l’ouverture mozartienne à la Monnaie, vous aurez l’embarras du choix ! Tandis qu’à la Madeleine, les chanteurs se laissent inspirer par une salle qui évoque plutôt le music-hall, on entend de douces voix sortir de la galerie Bortier, mêlant des airs de la Renaissance et des récitations de poésie. Pendant ce temps, au cœur du Palais des Beaux-Arts, dans un écrin royal, Lisa et Thomas vous narrent les mésaventures des épouses d’Henry VIII. Et dans un obscur souterrain, huit jeunes chanteurs vous entourent et vous invitent à vous baigner de Rachmaninoff …

Jazzman invétéré ? Pourquoi ne pas vous glisser dans un des appartements à l’étage des Galeries Saint-Hubert, pour siroter du Duke Ellington ? Ou peut-être est-ce le moment de découvrir le splendide Théâtre du Vaudeville, pour un programme mêlant cinéma muet et improvisation musicale aux couleurs jazzy, avec Philippe Thuriot et ses « joueurs d’échecs » ? En sortant de la galerie, vous pourriez tomber sur Mâäk&KOJO, le collectif qui secoue ? Et si vous avez soif, précipitez-vous vers le Café 28, où des musiciens d’orchestre croisent Tcha Limberger et ses manouches déjantés.

Souffleur enthousiaste ? Caché dans la discrète église de la Madeleine, un ensemble à vent est prêt à attaquer la Huitième de Beethoven – avec un effectif compact ! Au même moment, dans les galeries Saint-Hubert, le Brass Band du Belgian National Orchestra se prépare à vous surprendre pendant votre séance de lèche-vitrines. Et tant que vous êtes là, pourquoi ne pas réexplorer La Flûte Enchantée en compagnie de Maaike Cafmeyer et de ses compères hoboïstes (en néerlandais uniquement) ?

Cordes sensibles ? Voici une expérience à tenter pour vous : étirez-vous sur un tapis de yoga, aux sons du violoncelle et du violon, et plongez dans Castillo Interior, une magnifique pièce de Vasks. En fin de journée, gagnez BOZAR pour le bouquet final, où le soliste Lorenzo Gatto s’entoure des cordes de l’orchestre national et recomposera pour vous Max Richter … ou était-ce Vivaldi ?

Amoureux du patrimoine bruxellois ? Des Galeries Saint-Hubert au Palais des Beaux-Arts ; de la galerie Bortier à l’église de la Madeleine ; United Music vous amène à réexplorer la ville tout en découvrant des mondes musicaux insoupçonnés !

Vous venez avec de jeunes enfants ? L’ouverture magique à la Monnaie devrait les ravir ! Rejoignez-nous dès le début de l’aventure et plongez dans le thème de cette édition. Les chanteurs de la Monnaie vous émerveilleront par un avant-goût de leur premier opéra de la saison, La Flûte Enchantée. La prestation mouvementée de Mâäk & KOJO, les joies du cinéma au Vaudeville, ou l’ambiance swing du Café 28 devraient aussi captiver petits et grands … Ou peut-être aurez-vous envie de vous hisser sur les chaises des musiciens du Belgian National Orchestra, galerie Ravenstein, où une bande de percussionnistes se chargeront de vous mettre en train ? Ou encore d’écarquiller les yeux devant les contorsions hip-hop de Greg Lox au BOZAR Half Circus, animé par DK Keso et des musiciens classiques ?

 

Lieux de concert inattendus, programme expérimental … United Music of Brussels fait écho à la thématique 2018-2019 « BOZAR breaks out ! ». Avec ses clins d’œil à La Flûte Enchantée, prochain opéra joué à La Monnaie, et à la musique de Beethoven, dont l’ensemble des symphonies seront interprétées en 2018-2019 par l’Orchestre symphonique de la Monnaie et le Belgian National Orchestra, cet après-midi est aussi le moment de lever un coin du rideau sur les concerts qui vous attendent pour cette nouvelle saison palpitante …

Alors, à vos marques ? Prêts ? Explorez !