United

Since the creation of our small country, this slogan dear to Belgians (“Unity is Strength”, remember!) has lost none of its relevance… citizens of Brussels, Belgians, Europeans, citizens of a globalised world, there is no shortage of challenges, nor occasions lacking to reaffirm our growing need for solidarity. In a world that is incredibly connected, which drives us to communicate constantly and massively, one question preoccupies us on this 8 September: what makes the quality of a connection, be it between people or between organisations?

You don’t need a screen to experience “United Music of Brussels”, you don’t need a password or to download an app. Visitors are invited to walk around, to look, listen… share. The event is free and open to all. But none of this would be possible if a large number of people hadn’t already joined forces to make this project happen. There are so many United Music partnerships that it’s almost impossible to list them all!

Needless to say, the three major federal music institutions, the Belgian National Orchestra, la Monnaie and BOZAR, are joining forces for the occasion. Their management, staff, artists, buildings, many resources have been mobilised to offer the public an afternoon that’ll take place well off the beaten track. But in particular, these three players have linked up with their city and the urban fabric in which they work. And while the project has been prepared in collaboration with the City of Brussels and its authorities, it is also the result of encounters with countless local initiatives. We have knocked on many doors to prepare this event!

The amazing team at the Galeries Royales Saint-Hubert immediately embraced the idea and pointed us in the direction of many exciting partners. Among them, Eric and Simon who have enthusiastically opened their doors to welcome us into the intimacy of their magnificent apartment, sandwiched between two chocolatiers. The wine tasting during the Jazz@home concert will take place in their home and is offered by the team at the Taverne du Passage, the beating heart of the galleries. Meanwhile, Valérie Kinoo showed us around her inspiring co-working space, where creative types and free-spirited entrepreneurs link up. While we were there, she introduced us to Michel Van Cauter, inventor of the “Popup Yoga Concepts” in Brussels, an idea that gets the city moving and which will get our visitors stretching on 8 September! Frédéric Cornet was also prepared to leap across boundaries by hosting a performance-concert at the Galeries cinema, as well as in the astonishing adjoining basement. Thanks to “Choux de Bruxelles” and the attentive support of Thierry Dhulsters, United Music will also welcome the public and artists in another exceptional setting, that of the recently renovated Théâtre du Vaudeville.

There was no shortage of goodwill outside the Galeries either. The bookshops in the Galerie Bortier will warmly welcome the event and our visitors. Priest Viktors Jermakovics and the community of Sainte-Marie-Madeleine have also opened their doors to this unusual event. And Carine, Julie and Benjamin from the Salle de la Madeleine have also put all their efforts into ensuring that not a note is out of place on 8 September. At Brasserie 28, Alexandre De Ridder, previously responsible for the Brussels Jazz Marathon, is certainly used to organising events but this has to be the first time musicians of the Belgian National Orchestra will be playing Richard Strauss in this special beer bar! Thanks to the warm welcome of Rik Sturtewagen, who also happens to be an experienced jazz violinist, the Muntpunt is kindly lending us its mobile library so that we can provide information to our visitors. And Music Fund, a musical education project in countries in conflict and developing countries, based in Galerie Ravenstein, is providing us with musical instruments. Grab one and be immortalised as a virtuoso for a day at our info-photo stand in front of Central Station! Many artistic partnerships have also been formed as a result of the project: the Broedbloeders production company, for example, is collaborating with the organisers on the “De Toverfluit in een (n)otendop” programme, while Met-X Moving Music, which produces exciting urban music events, represents the Mâäk & KOJO jazz collective. The Muse Gueule team has put together a made-to-measure entertainment programme: see of you can spot their performers as you make your way around!

For the third year, United Music of Brussels is benefiting from another precious collaboration – with the European Commission‘s Directorate General for Human Resources. Thanks to their team, we will have the enthusiastic help of more than fifty volunteers working within the European institutions, ready to bend over backwards this Saturday to help you make the most of your afternoon, in almost all the languages of the EU! For them, the event is an opportunity to get more involved in what’s going on in their adopted city, to discover a new side to Brussels and to meet its inhabitants.

Thousands of connections are made during the project: between artists, often from different musical traditions, between the various partners of the project, their entourage… but also, we hope, between the musicians and the public, between residents and visitors, between music lovers and inquisitive novices… #United: all united by the city and by music!

United

Depuis la création de notre petit pays, ce slogan cher aux Belges (rappelez-vous, « L’Union fait la force » !) n’a rien perdu de sa pertinence… Bruxellois, Belges, Européens, citoyens d’un monde globalisé : les défis ne manquent pas à cette heure, ni les occasions de réaffirmer un besoin grandissant de solidarité. Dans un univers incroyablement connecté, qui nous porte à communiquer sans cesse et massivement, une question nous préoccupe ce 8 septembre : qu’est-ce qui fait la qualité d’un lien, que ce soit entre personnes, ou entre organisations ?

Pour vivre l’expérience « United Music of Brussels », nul besoin d’écran, de mot de passe, ou d’application à télécharger. Le visiteur est invité à se promener, à regarder, à écouter. À échanger. L’événement est gratuit et ouvert à tous. Pourtant, rien de tout cela ne serait possible si un grand nombre de gens ne s’étaient déjà mis en lien pour créer ce projet. Les partenariats United Music sont si nombreux qu’il est presque impossible d’en faire un inventaire complet !

Il y a bien sûr la mise en commun des forces des trois grandes maisons fédérales de la musique : le Belgian National Orchestra, La Monnaie et BOZAR. Ses directions, son personnel, ses artistes, ses bâtiments, ses ressources multiples sont activées pour proposer au public un après-midi loin des sentiers battus. Mais surtout, les trois acteurs se mettent en relation avec leur ville, avec leur contexte urbain. Si le projet est préparé en collaboration avec la Ville de Bruxelles et ses instances, il est aussi le fruit de rencontres avec les innombrables initiatives locales présentes sur le terrain investi. Nous avons poussé bien des portes en préparant l’événement !

L’aimable équipe des Galeries Royales Saint-Hubert a adhéré tout de suite à l’idée et nous a aiguillés vers de nombreux partenaires passionnants. Parmi eux, Éric et Simon qui nous accueillent avec enthousiasme et confiance dans l’intimité de leur magnifique appartement, niché entre deux chocolatiers. Les dégustations de vin du concert Jazz@home qui se déroulera chez eux seront proposées par l’équipe de la Taverne du Passage, haut lieu de la vie saint-hubertienne. Valérie Kinoo, quant à elle, nous a fait découvrir son inspirant espace de coworking, où se connectent créatifs et entrepreneurs à l’esprit indépendant. Elle nous a présenté au passage Michel Van Cauter, inventeur de « Popup Yoga Concepts » à Bruxelles, une idée qui fait bouger la ville, et qui fera s’étirer les visiteurs le 8 septembre prochain ! Frédéric Cornet était également prêt à sauter les frontières, en accueillant une performance-concert dans une des salles du cinéma Galeries, ainsi que dans le surprenant souterrain attenant. Grâce à « Choux de Bruxelles » et au soutien attentif de Thierry Dhulsters, United Music va pouvoir réceptionner le public et les artistes dans un autre cadre exceptionnel : celui du Théâtre du Vaudeville, récemment rénové.

À l’extérieur des Galeries, les bonnes volontés n’ont pas manqué non plus. Les libraires de la Galerie Bortier accueilleront chaleureusement l’événement et nos visiteurs. Le frère Jermakovics et la communauté de Sainte-Marie-Madeleine ouvrent également volontiers leurs portes à cette manifestation inhabituelle. Carine, Julie et Benjamin, de la salle de La Madeleine se sont mobilisés eux aussi pour que tout soit réglé comme du papier à musique le 8 septembre. À la Brasserie 28, Alexandre De Ridder a l’habitude d’organiser des événements, lui qui s’occupait autrefois du Brussels Jazz Marathon. Mais c’est sûrement la première fois que des musiciens du Belgian National Orchestra jouent du Richard Strauss dans ce bar à bières spéciales ! Grâce au bon accueil de Rik Sturtewagen, qui est aussi un violoniste jazz chevronné, le Muntpunt nous prête gracieusement sa bibliothèque ambulante pour l’information de nos visiteurs. Et Music Fund, un projet d’éducation musicale dans des pays en conflit ou en voie de développement – dont le siège est situé Galerie Ravenstein –  met à notre disposition des instruments de musique. Vous pourrez brandir ceux-ci et vous faire immortaliser en virtuose d’un jour à notre stand info-photo, devant la Gare Centrale ! De nombreux partenariats artistiques ont également vu le jour à l’occasion du projet : la maison de production Broedbloeders collabore notamment avec les organisateurs pour le programme « De Toverfluit in een (n)otendop », tandis que Met-X Moving Music, qui produit des événements musicaux urbains palpitants, représente le collectif jazz Mâäk & KOJO. L’équipe de la Muse Gueule s’est chargée de nous proposer un programme d’animation sur mesure : à vous de repérer ses histrions sur le parcours !

Pour la troisième année, United Music of Brussels bénéficie d’un autre partenariat précieux : la collaboration du Directorat Général « Ressources Humaines » de la Commission Européenne. Grâce à leur équipe, nous bénéficions de l’aide enthousiaste de plus de cinquante volontaires travaillant au sein des institutions européennes, et prêts à se plier en quatre ce samedi pour vous faire profiter au mieux de votre après-midi, et ce dans presque toutes les langues de l’U.E. ! C’est pour eux l’occasion de sentir battre plus intensément le pouls de leur ville d’adoption, de découvrir un nouveau visage de Bruxelles et de rencontrer ses habitants.

Des milliers de liens se tissent donc à l’occasion du projet : entre les artistes souvent issus de différents horizons musicaux, entre les divers partenaires du projet, leur entourage… Mais aussi, nous l’espérons, entre les musiciens et le public, entre les habitants et les passants, entre les mélomanes et les novices curieux… #United : tous liés par la ville, et par la musique !