About the project

Did you say “United Music of Brussels”? What exactly is that?

For the third time, the Belgian National Orchestra, La Monnaie and BOZAR join forces for an ambitious project, challenging the traditional concert approach to classical music. One of the driving forces of the project is a vision that consists in literally reaching out to the city and its inhabitants, by scheduling performances in places that are unexpected and preferably little-known, even to those born and bred in Brussels.

The project was born at a difficult time, immediately after the Brussels attacks of March 2016. The three partners were united in their desire to contribute to recreating a positive image of the city, including for its own inhabitants. The programme is therefore designed in such a way as to invite the public to stroll and to discover the city, following the music.

Become an explorer in your own city, what an adventure! Our diaries are so full… when do we take the time to stroll like a tourist through neighbourhoods so familiar that we no longer look? At the start of the season, United Music offers its visitors the chance to extend their holidays, to open new doors, to float in different sounds… Unusual places, new configurations of the concert form, and a lively musical repertoire, enough to give a boost to the new season and to wake up sleepy music lovers!

Going from one concert to the next, meet the season ticket holders and the regulars, dilettante musicians, idle strollers, tourists and of course the many partners supporting the event. “United” in making connections at many levels, this is one of the main missions of the three organisers of the event. To meet is to open up, and not only for the public, but also for musicians, drawn into an unusual performing environment, invited to reflect on new programmes and new forms of concert. In the future, the aim is to develop this vision of a sustainable relationship with local partners and artists in Brussels through acts of co-creation. The 2018 edition has begun to build bridges in this direction, with the participation of the Mâäk collective (MetX Moving Music) and Brussels hip-hop artists.

On the 8th of September, a total immersive experience therefore awaits both audience and musicians. This is what this year’s edition aims to stress through its programme and its theme of enchantment, in other words, surprise, curiosity and an open mind. Just don’t expect us to reveal all! Let’s just say that as you dive into the unknown, lost in a cocktail of styles, your senses seduced by tastes and smells, expect the unexpected!

À propos du projet

Vous avez dit « United Music of Brussels » ? Mais de quoi s’agit-il ?

Pour la troisième fois, le Belgian National Orchestra, La Monnaie et BOZAR joignent leurs forces pour un projet ambitieux, remettant en question l’approche traditionnelle envers les concerts de musique classique. L’un des axes porteurs du projet est une démarche qui consiste à aller littéralement à la rencontre de la ville et de ses habitants, en programmant les prestations dans des lieux inattendus et de préférence méconnus, même des Bruxellois eux-mêmes.

Le projet naît en effet dans un contexte difficile, directement après les attentats à Bruxelles en mars 2016. Les trois partenaires s’accordent alors sur la volonté de contribuer à redonner une image positive de Bruxelles, y compris pour ses propres habitants. La programmation est donc conçue de façon à inviter activement le public à la promenade et à la découverte, avec la musique pour fil conducteur.

Redevenir un explorateur dans sa propre ville, quelle aventure ! Avec nos agendas souvent bien remplis, quand prenons-nous le temps de nous promener comme un touriste dans les quartiers qui nous sont pourtant si familiers ? En début de saison, United Music offre au visiteur l’occasion de prolonger ses vacances, en poussant de nouvelles portes, en se baignant dans de nouvelles sonorités … Lieux insolites, nouvelles configurations de concert et répertoire musical vitaminé, de quoi booster le début de saison et réveiller les mélomanes assoupis !

Au détour des concerts, on voit se croiser abonnés et assidus, musiciens dilettantes, flâneurs, touristes et bien sûr les nombreux partenaires associés à l’événement. « United », créer des liens à plusieurs niveaux, est une des principales missions que se sont données les trois maisons dans le cadre du projet. Qui dit rencontre dit aussi ouverture, et ce non seulement pour le public, mais aussi pour les musiciens, que l’on entraîne dans des contextes de prestation inhabituels, et que l’on invite à réfléchir sur de nouveaux programmes et formats de concert. Dans le futur, le but est de développer cette optique de relations durables avec les partenaires locaux de Bruxelles et ses artistes, par le biais de co-créations. Cette édition 2018 lance des ponts en ce sens, avec la participation du collectif Mâäk (MetX Moving Music) et d’artistes bruxellois du hip-hop.

C’est donc une expérience totale qui attend public et musiciens le 8 septembre. Et c’est sur cet aspect que la nouvelle édition veut mettre l’accent, avec sa programmation et avec son thème – l’émerveillement; autrement dit la surprise, une source de curiosité et d’ouverture d’esprit. Pas question de tout vous révéler, bien sûr ! Contentons-nous de vous prévenir qu’entre cocktail stylistique, expériences gustatives et olfactives, et plongées dans l’inconnu, tous les coups sont permis !